<![CDATA[Nick Chavez SoccerNewsday.com Article Feed]]>http://www.soccernewsday.com/Mon, 20 Feb 2017 03:00:17 +0000Wed, 06 Jul 2016 09:14:55 +000060The Hudson Derby Is Finally Bluehttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2210/the-hudson-derby-is-finally-blueBoth Patrick Vieira and New York City FC Supporters are finally rewarded for keeping the faith in first-ever win over the Red Bulls Wed, 06 Jul 2016 09:14:55 +0000On Support and Rivalries Following The Hudson Derbyhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2208/on-support-and-rivalries-following-the-hudson-derbyAfter a heavy New York City loss, I explore a productive approach to support and whether the Hudson Derby is still a "rivalry"Thu, 26 May 2016 16:30:16 +0000Hudson Derby Heated Despite Red Bull Fans’ Silencehttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2206/hudson-derby-heated-despite-red-bull-fans-silenceDon’t let Red Bull fans’ cautious silence fool you -- The New York Derby will be intense as everFri, 20 May 2016 07:21:25 +0000No Player Is 'Unbenchable,' Nor Should They Behttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2205/no-player-is-unbenchable-nor-should-they-beVieira has shown that if Pirlo can be benched, anyone can, and that’s good for New York City FCTue, 26 Apr 2016 10:00:07 +0000NYCFC Shrewdly Prepares For Its Second Seasonhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2192/nycfc-shrewdly-prepares-for-its-second-seasonNegotiating to acquire the first overall pick in the MLS SuperDraft and signing the best Left Back in Costa Rica are strokes of genius by NYCFCFri, 22 Jan 2016 06:24:24 +0000New York City FC is Not a ‘Farm Team’http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2181/new-york-city-fc-is-not-a-farm-team-Contrary to common perception, NYCFC is not, in reality, a “farm team”, and City Football Group has plenty of incentive to make sure of thatWed, 09 Dec 2015 12:59:05 +000010 Reasons To Be Optimistic About Vieira’s Hiringhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2175/10-reasons-to-be-optimistic-about-vieira-s-hiring Firing former MLS champion Jason Kreis after one season was ill-advised, but Vieira’s hiring could prove a shrewd moveThu, 19 Nov 2015 14:21:01 +0000Replacing Kreis With Vieira Would Be an Unnecessarily Risky Gamblehttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2164/replacing-kreis-with-vieira-would-be-an-unnecessarily-risky-gambleVieira is unproven as a first-team coach and surely doesn’t know MLS or the NYCFC players as well as Kreis. The choice is clear.Thu, 22 Oct 2015 12:59:27 +0000The Response From NYCFC Shows the Quality of Kreishttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2153/the-response-from-nycfc-shows-the-quality-of-kreisNYCFC still remaining motivated with playoffs unlikely and gelling in such a short period of time shows why faith in Kreis continues to be well-placedMon, 28 Sep 2015 09:43:19 +0000If You’re Not Prepared to Fight for New York City, Don't Sign For NYCFChttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2147/if-you-re-not-prepared-to-fight-for-new-york-city-don-t-sign-for-nycfcPlaying for New York City’s team in the world’s most important sport is a massive privilege. All players should act accordingly or find another club. Fri, 11 Sep 2015 10:25:49 +0000NYCFC Suffer Hudson Derby Sweep, But Still Much To Celebratehttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2134/nycfc-suffer-hudson-derby-sweep-but-still-much-to-celebrateLosses are to be expected for any expansion side, but silver linings are abundant for New York City FC and New York SoccerMon, 10 Aug 2015 10:10:49 +0000Pirlo: A Force of Footballing Nature in New York Cityhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2129/pirlo-a-force-of-footballing-nature-in-new-york-cityThe Italian legend made an immediate, world-class impact on his New York City FC teammates in his MLS debut Mon, 27 Jul 2015 09:39:25 +0000The Real New York City FChttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2122/the-real-new-york-city-fcWith Pirlo, Lampard, and Iraola joining, NYCFC is now one of the most star-studded American clubs in historyTue, 07 Jul 2015 09:33:23 +0000Did Kreis Want A Younger Designated Player Than Pirlo?http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2115/did-kreis-want-a-younger-designated-player-than-pirlo-It is anything but certain that Kreis preferred a younger DP than Italian legend Andrea Pirlo despite a reportThu, 25 Jun 2015 09:43:58 +0000The Power of the East River Derbyhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2112/the-power-of-the-east-river-derbyNew York City FC supporters continue to inspire and deliver passion in a way never before seen in New York soccerFri, 19 Jun 2015 07:52:48 +000010 Games Winless and NYCFC Still Draw Over 26,000 Fanshttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2106/10-games-winless-and-nycfc-still-draw-over-26-000-fansNew York City continues to prove it is “Blue” with attendance superiority in New York Soccer, even with dismal recordFri, 05 Jun 2015 05:08:01 +0000The Hudson Derby Lived Up To The Hypehttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2097/the-hudson-derby-lived-up-to-the-hypeThe first-ever Hudson Derby is exactly what MLS was hoping for when establishing NYCFCFri, 15 May 2015 07:41:37 +0000The Hudson River Derby Will Be Amongst the Most Intense Rivalries in MLShttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2092/the-hudson-river-derby-will-be-amongst-the-most-intense-rivalries-in-mlsNew York City FC will eventually supplant D.C. United as Red Bull New York’s most bitter rivalThu, 07 May 2015 06:39:27 +0000Americans Will Care About Major League Soccer ... Soonhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2083/americans-will-care-about-major-league-soccer-soonMLS’s modest TV ratings will improve as North American soccer supporter culture continues to develop and matureThu, 09 Apr 2015 06:40:15 +0000MLS Interest From a British Perspective (Part 2): Daily Telegraph Sports Copy Editor Bob Williamshttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2081/mls-interest-from-a-british-perspective-part-2-daily-telegraph-sports-copy-editor-bob-williamsA series of interviews with British football writers and media professionals discussing their views on Major League SoccerFri, 03 Apr 2015 06:38:22 +0000